Year of Scripture – Thessalonians

Today’s Readings:
Day 347 – Friday December 13: I Thessalonians
Day 348 – Saturday, December 14: II Thessalonians

There was one thing that caught my attention as I read through I & II Thessalonians, which came at the close of the second letter:

I, Paul, write this greeting with my own hand.
This is the mark in every letter of mine; it is the way I write.
The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with all of you.”

Think of you signature on the bottom of a page. Scrawled out in your own hand. Unique in your own way. Paul did much the same. He signed his letters, which were probably written by someone else, transcribing his thoughts and putting words to ink and paper. While not theologically significant, Paul wanted his readers to know these were his words. This is mine, so I sign it in my own hand.

Peace,
Pastor Bailey

Upcoming Readings:
Day 349 – Sunday, December 15: I Timothy
Day 350 – Monday, December 16: II Timothy
Day 351 – Tuesday, December 17: Titus & Philemon
Day 352 – Wednesday, December 18: Hebrews 1 – 6
Day 353 – Thursday, December 19: Hebrews 7 – 10
Day 354 – Friday, December 20: Hebrews 11 – 13
Day 355 – Saturday, December 21: James
Day 356 – Sunday, December 22: 1 Peter
Day 357 – Monday, December 23: 2 Peter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s